National Tour of Small Mouth Sounds Finds Its Cast | Playbill

Related Articles
Regional News National Tour of Small Mouth Sounds Finds Its Cast Bess Wohl’s acclaimed Off-Broadway play will have engagements in New Haven, San Francisco, Santa Monica, Dallas, and Miami.
Cherene Snow

New Haven’s Long Wharf Theatre and producer Eva Price have announced casting for the upcoming production of Small Mouth Sounds, the first stop on the show’s national tour schedule. As previously announced, Bess Wohl’s acclaimed Off-Broadway play is scheduled to also play engagements in San Francisco, Santa Monica, Dallas, Miami, and Philadelphia.

The national tour will kick off at the Long Wharf Theatre beginning August 29, directed by Tony nominee Rachel Chavkin. The Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812 director and her creative team have reworked the production from a traverse staging to proscenium.

The cast will be made up of Connor Barrett (Jan), Ben Beckley (Ned), Edward Chin-Lyn (Rodney), Orville Mendoza (Teacher), Brenna Palughi (Alicia), Socorro Santiago (Joan), and Cherene Snow (Judy).

See below for the updated tour schedule:

New Haven, Connecticut
August 29–September 24
Long Wharf Theatre, Stage II

San Francisco, California
October 11–December 10
A.C.T., Strand Theater

Santa Monica, California
January 11–28, 2018
Broad Stage

Dallas, Texas
February 1–11, 2018
Dallas AT&T Performing Arts Center, Wyly Theatre

Miami, Florida
February 16–March 4, 2018
Arsht Center, Carnival Theater

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
March 13–April 1, 2018
Philadelphia Theatre Company

Small Mouth Sounds was presented Off-Broadway at the Pershing Square Signature Center by Price, Stacey Mindich, Betsy Bernstein, Ars Nova, Catherine Adler/Sean Hudock, Burnt Umber Productions, Amanda Dubois, Rebecca Gold, Sally Horchow, Iris Smith, Craig Balsam/Kurt Deutsch, and Eric Cornell/Jenna Segal.

The original design team of Small Mouth Sounds Off-Broadway returns for the national tour and includes Obie-winning scenic designer Laura Jellinek, costume designer Tilly Grimes, lighting designer Mike Inwood, Lortel-nominated sound designer Stowe Nelson, projection designer Andrew Schneider, and prop designer Noah Mease.

For more information visit


Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!