NYMF's Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years) Named TAM Award Winner

News   NYMF's Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years) Named TAM Award Winner
The New York Musical Theatre Festival has announced the winner of the Theater for the American Musical Award, which will be presented during the NYMF Awards in Excellence gala Nov. 4.

From the 34 new musicals presented during the 4th annual festival, Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years) has been selected as the 2007 TAM Award winner. Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years) features music by Jared M. Dembrowski, lyrics by Susannah Pearse and a book by Kate Ferguson and Robert Hudson.

The TAM Award, endowed by lyricist Mae Richard, honors a new musical that exemplifies the characteristics of the traditional American musical. The work is selected for incorporating easily understood "stand-alone" songs that advance the musical's plot.

During the Nov. 4 gala at the Hudson Theatre, the New York Musical Theatre Festival will present the Awards in Excellence, which recognize musicals in various creative categories.

In addition to the musicals being honored, the NYMF Awards Festival will fete three young Broadway producers – Robert Ahrens (Xanadu), Pun Bandhu (Spring Awakening) and Jennifer Maloney (Spring Awakening, Legally Blonde).

The evening will include appearances and performances by Xanadu's Jackie Hoffman, Mary Testa, and author Douglas Carter Beane; Spring Awakening composer Duncan Sheik, director Michael Mayer and producers Tom Hulce and Tamara Tunie; and two-time Tony nominee Kelli O'Hara. The 2007 NYMF productions will be represented with performances from Anna Noguiera and Michael Zahler from The Boy in the Bathroom; Sarah Jane Everman from Unlock'd; Laura Shoop from Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years); and Shonn Wiley from Mud Donahue and Son.

The 2007 NYMF awards gala begins with a 6 PM champagne reception, followed by dinner and musical performances. The evening's entertainment is directed by Steven Yuhasz.

Single tickets are $400 and VIP seats are $600, with supporter tables priced at $4,000 and VIP tables at $6,000. VIP tables receive premium locations and invitations to the post-show reception. NYMF Awards Gala tickets and tables can be purchased at www.nymf.org or by calling (212) 664-0979.


A complete list of the 2007 NYMF Awards in Excellence winners follow:

BEST IN FEST Audience Prize:
Unlock'd (Book and lyrics by Sam Carner, music by Derek Gregor)
Honorable Mention: Bernice Bobs Her Mullet and Back Home

Most Promising New Musical:
The Boy in the Bathroom (Book and lyrics by Michael Lluberes, music and additional lyrics by Joe Maloney)
Honorable Mention: Love Sucks and Unlock'd

Excellence in Music:
Danny Larsen, The Yellow Wood
Honorable Mention: Marcus Hummon, The Piper and Stephanie Johnstone, Tully (in no particular order)

Excellence in Lyrics:
Noel Katz, Such Good Friends
Honorable Mention: Sam Carner, Unlock'd and Frank Evans, Back Home

Excellence in Book:
Michael Lluberes, The Boy in the Bathroom
Honorable Mention: Joan Cushing, Petite Rouge (A Cajun Red Riding Hood) and Kate Ferguson & Robert Hudson, Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years)

Excellence in Direction:
Marc Bruni, Such Good Friends
Honorable Mention: Michael Lluberes, The Boy in the Bathroom and BD Wong, The Yellow Wood

Excellence in Choreography: Ron De Jesus, Linda Goodrich, Jeff Shade, Nick Kenkel and Matt Williams, Platforms
Honorable Mention: Kevin Remington, The Beastly Bombing and Lynne Taylor-Corbett, Mud Donahue and Son

Excellence in Overall Design:
The Boy in the Bathroom (Seth Easter, set; Carrie Wood, lighting; Lisa Renee Jordan, costumes; Elizabeth Rhodes, sound)
Honorable Mention: The Good Fight (Alison Fraser, Bronwyn Mace & Lorraine Koh, costumes; Glen Hunter, lighting; Daniel Jongen, sound and additional production) and Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years) (Meghan Williams, props; Jason Lyons, lighting; Christie Carroll, costumes; Ken Travis, sound)

Outstanding Ensemble Performance:
Going Down Swingin' (Stacie Bono, Tom Deckman, Leo Ash Evens, George McDaniel, Meredith Patterson, Hardy Rawls, Marla Schaffel, Christopher Shyer, James Stovall)
Honorable Mention: The Boy in the Bathroom (Ana Noguiera, Mary Stout, Michael Zahler) and Unlock'd (Jackie Burns, Alison Cimmet, Maria Couch, William Thomas Evans, Sarah Jane Everman, Chris Gunn, Mary Catherine McDonald, Christopher Totten, Jim Weitzer, Darryl Winslow)

Outstanding Individual Performance
Stephen Bel Davies, Austentatious
Linda Hart, Gemini the Musical
Liz Larsen, Such Good Friends
Kate Shindle, Sympathy Jones
Laura Shoop, Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years)
Mary Stout, The Boy in the Bathroom
Yuka Takara, The Yellow Wood
Shonn Wiley, Mud Donahue and Son

Today’s Most Popular News: