Obie Awards, Co-Hosted by Rose and Cerveris, Presented May 17

News   Obie Awards, Co-Hosted by Rose and Cerveris, Presented May 17
Sahr Ngaujah and the cast of Fela! will perform two songs from that new musical — "Everything Scatter" and "Yellow Fever" —  May 17 at the 55th Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, co-hosted by Tony Award winners Anika Noni Rose and Michael Cerveris.

Anika Noni Rose
Anika Noni Rose Photo by Andrew Macpherson

The awards, which celebrate the 2009-2010 Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway seasons, will be held at Webster Hall in Manhattan beginning at 8 PM.

Presenters for the evening include J. Smith Cameron, Marin Ireland, Linda Lavin, Hamish Linklater, Michael Shannon, Lillias White and Jennifer Westfeldt.

"We are thrilled to welcome the cast and music of Fela! to the 2010 Village Voice Obie Awards," stated Rosemary Raposo, Village Voice Event Director. "Having won an Obie in the past during its Off-Broadway run, this special performance—featuring two rare dance performances—will add to the wonderful, celebratory evening honoring Off-Broadway."

The Obie Awards were created in 1955 by Jerry Tallmer. Past recipients include Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep, William Hurt, Morgan Freeman, Mos Def, Amy Irving, Kevin Kline, Nathan Lane, Olympia Dukakis, Robert Duvall, Kevin Bacon, Alec Baldwin, Kathy Bates, James Earl Jones, Felicity Huffman and Harvey Fierstein, among others.

For the first time ever, tickets, priced $25, are available to the general public. For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: