Off-Broadway's Groundswell Is a Result of The T Fellowship

News   Off-Broadway's Groundswell Is a Result of The T Fellowship
Orin Wolf, the first recipient of the The T Fellowship — the theatre program created to "encourage, support and develop a new generation of creative theatrical producers" — co-produced, with The New Group, Ian Bruce's Groundswell, which is currently playing Theatre Row's Acorn Theatre.

Geraldine Stutz, Harold Prince and Ed Wilson co-founded the theatre program, which launched in 2007. Based on an idea by the late theatrical producer T. Edward Hambleton, the Fellowship is a collaboration between theatre professionals and Columbia University.

The T Fellowship is run by Columbia University's School of the Arts in partnership with the Theatre Development Fund, the Columbia University Arts Initiative and the T Fellowship Committee, which includes Prince, Wilson, Margo Lion, Jack O'Brien, Victoria Bailey, Gregory Mosher, Steven Chaikelson and Annette Niemtzow.

Each year, the T Fellowship selects one or two outstanding individuals to participate in the program. The aforementioned Wolf, president of Off-Broadway Booking, was the Fellowship's first recipient and was named the 2007 Geraldine Stutz Fellow.

Hambleton was a founder and managing director of Off-Broadway's The Phoenix Theatre. He was also the recipient of a Special Lifetime Achievement Tony Award in 2000.

The American premiere of Groundswell currently plays through June 27 at Theatre Row's Acorn Theatre. The New Group artistic director Scott Elliott staged the work starring Larry Bryggman, David Lansbury and Souleymane Sy Savane. For more information, visit For more information on the T Fellowship, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: