Off-Bway's Lucille Lortel Award Nominees Announced April 2; Ceremony May 5 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Off-Bway's Lucille Lortel Award Nominees Announced April 2; Ceremony May 5 The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers will present the 18th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards May 5, announcing the winners — representing outstanding achievement in Off-Broadway theatre — at the ceremony.

Cut-off date for eligibility is March 31. This is the first year winners will be announced at the awards ceremony, to be held at the Lortel Theatre at 121 Christopher Street. Nominations will be announced April 2 and posted on

The 7 PM May 5 ceremony will be followed by a gala reception at a location to be announced.

The Lucille Lortel Awards 2003 nominating-voting committee includes representatives of the Off-Broadway League, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, journalists, educators, and other artistic contributors to Off-Broadway.

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers created these awards in recognition of the late Lucille Lortel's "tireless devotion to Off-Broadway." Awarded annually since 1986, the Lortel Awards are produced by the League in association with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Recent recipients of Lortel Awards include Edward Albee, Jane Alexander, Eileen Atkins, Alan Bates, Uta Hagen, Ed Harris, Kitty Carlisle Hart, Eileen Heckart, Cherry Jones, Moises Kaufman, Nathan Lane, Linda Lavin, John Leguizamo, Julianna Margulies, Arthur Miller, Jerry Orbach, Mary Louise Parker, Jason Robards, Mark Ruffalo, Anna Devere Smith, Susan Stroman, Eli Wallach, and Irene Worth, among others.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!