Off Off-Broadway's IT Awards Presented Sept. 22

News   Off Off-Broadway's IT Awards Presented Sept. 22
Lisa Kron hosts the 2008 Innovative Theatre Awards, celebrating the best of Off Off-Broadway, at the Fashion Institute of Technology on Sept. 22.
Host Lisa Kron
Host Lisa Kron

Blue Man Group will open the ceremony, which also honors Living Theatre founder Judith Malina (Artistic Achievement Award), The New York Theatre Experience (Stewardship Award) and the Boomerang Theatre (Caffe Cino Fellowship).

The 2008 IT Award nominations, including 127 individual artists and 47 productions, were culled from the work of over 3,000 artists. Nominations were announced July 21.

Currently scheduled to present awards are Edward Albee (Peter and Jerry), Olympia Dukakis (The Rose Tattoo), Rob Ashford (Cry-Baby), Michael Berresse ([title of show]), Kirk Wood Bromley (Three Dollar Bill), John Bucchino (A Catered Affair), Desiree Burch (Rip Me Open), Barrett Foa (Avenue Q), Michael Dahlen (Blue Man Group), Catherine Zuber (South Pacific), Anna Louizos (To Be Or Not To Be), Anne Militello (Tooth of Crime), Dan Moses Schreier (Emergence-SEE!), Tina Howe (Pride's Crossing), David Cote (Time Out New York) and Leonard Jacobs (National Theater Editor at Back Stage).

A selection of the 2008 IT Award nominations follows:

  • Outstanding Production of a Musical
    Conjur Woman, LaMaMa Experimental Theater Club
    Honor, Prospect Theater Company
    The People vs. Mona, Ground Up Productions
    The Rockae, Prospect Theater Company
    Triumph of Love, Astoria Performing Arts Center
    Yank! A New Musical, The Gallery Players
  • Outstanding Production of a Play
    Burn, Crave, Hold: The James Wilde Project, Blessed Unrest
    The Caucasian Chalk Circle, Hipgnosis Theatre Company
    Cherry Docs, Theatre of the Expendable
    Fight Girl Battle World, Vampire Cowboys Theatre Company
    No End of Blame, Potomac Theatre Project
    The Night of Nosferatu, Rabbit Hole Ensemble
  • Outstanding Performance Art Production
    Art of Memory, Company SoGoNo
    The Island of Dr. Moreau, Radiotheatre
    Removable Parts, HERE Arts Center
    Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind, New York Neo-Futurists
    You Got Questions? I Got Answers!, Coyote REP Theatre Company
    The Young Ladies Of..., Taylor Mac, HERE Arts Center
  • Outstanding Solo Performance
    Dana Berger, Washing Machine
    Andrea Caban, You Got Questions? I Got Answers!
    Taylor Mac, The Young Ladies Of...
    Petronia Paley, On the Way to Timbuktu
    Jonathan Pereira, American Cake
    Melle Powers, Whence Came Ye Scarlett O'Hara O'Hanrahan?
  • Outstanding Ensemble
    Art of Memory
    Burn, Crave, Hold: The James Wilde Project
    Fight Girl Battle World
    The Leopard and The Fox
    The Night of Nosferatu
    Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind
  • Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role
    Abby Baum, Triumph of Love
    Stephanie Barton-Farcas, Elizabeth Rex
    Laura Heidinger, Six Degrees of Separation
    Lauren Kelston, Mill Fire
    Kira Sternbach, Gerald's Method
    Kristen Vaughan, Mill Fire
  • Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role Michael DiGioia, Elizabeth Rex
    Alex Draper, No End of Blame
    Peter Judd, You Can't Take It With You
    Cameron J. Oro, The Accidental Patriot
    Maximilian Osinski, Cherry Docs
    Bobby Steggert, Yank! A New Musical
  • Outstanding Director
    Edward Elefterion, The Night of Nosferatu
    David Gow, Cherry Docs
    Emma Griffin, Removable Parts
    Richard Romagnoli, No End of Blame
    Robert Ross Parker, Fight Girl Battle World
    Damen Scranton, Burn, Crave, Hold: The James Wilde Project
  • Outstanding Full-Length Script
    Bekah Brunstetter, You May Go Now
    Qui Nguyen, Fight Girl Battle World
    Matthew Opatrny, Burn, Crave, Hold: The James Wilde Project
    David Pumo, Auntie Mayhem
    James Scruggs, (RUS)H
    Stanton Wood, The Night of Nosferatu
  • Outstanding Short Script
    Andrea Caban, You Got Questions? I Got Answers!
    Bronwen Denton-Davis, Pealing Figs
    Daniel Gallant, Gerald's Method
    Philip Gawthorne, Modern Life is Rubbish
    Nancy Harris, Girl in a Bath
    Aliza Shane, The Three Sillies
    C. Denby Swanson, Potato Feast
  • Outstanding Original Music
    Dan Bianchi, The Invisible Man
    Dan Bianchi, The Island of Dr. Moreau
    Mark Bruckner, Same Train
    Larry Lees, The Magic of Mrs. Crowling
    Pete Mills, The Rockae
    Mitun Sinha, The Leopard and The Fox
    Min Xiao-Fen, On the Way to Timbuktu For a complete list of nominations, visit

  • Today’s Most Popular News: