"Oprah" to Welcome Travolta and "Hairspray" Cast

News   "Oprah" to Welcome Travolta and "Hairspray" Cast
The cast of the film of "Hairspray" will appear on "The Oprah Winfrey Show" May 16.
John Travolta and Queen Latifah in
John Travolta and Queen Latifah in "Hairspray." Photo by New Line Cinema

According to the official website for the Emmy-winning talk show, John Travolta, Michelle Pfeiffer, Queen Latifah, Christopher Walken and other members of the "Hairspray" cast will chat with Winfrey about the new film.

Adam Shankman directs the new "Hairspray" film, which stars Queen Latifah as Motormouth Maybelle, John Travolta as Edna Turnblad, Christopher Walken as Wilbur Turnblad, Amanda Bynes as Penny Pingleton, Zac Efron as Link Larkin, Brittany Snow as Amber von Tussel, Michelle Pfeiffer as Velma von Tussel, James Marsden as Corny Collins, Elijah Kelly as Seaweed, Allison Janney as Prudy Pingleton and Nikki Blonsky as Tracy Turnblad.

"Hairspray" is based on the musical Hairspray, currently running at the Neil Simon Theatre, which is in turn based on the 1988 John Waters film of the same name. The new film is scheduled to arrive in movie theatres this summer.

"The Oprah Winfrey Show" airs in the metropolitan New York City area on WABC-TV Channel 7, from 4-5 PM ET; check local listings. Visit www2.oprah.com for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: