Oscar Hammerstein Award Winner Announced

News   Oscar Hammerstein Award Winner Announced
Famed set and costume designer Tony Walton will receive the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre June 6 at the Hudson Theatre.
Tony Walton
Tony Walton

Presented by the York Theatre Company, the evening will feature an all-star tribute directed by Tony Award winner Kathleen Marshall. The event will kick off with cocktails at 6 PM, followed by dinner at 6:30 PM. The concert and awards ceremony is scheduled for 8 PM with a cast party and dessert reception to follow. Performers will be announced shortly. The Oscar Hammerstein Award was created in 1988 by the York's founding artistic director, Janet Hays Walker. Past recipients include John Kander and Fred Ebb, Cameron Mackintosh, David Merrick, Stephen Sondheim, Stephen Schwartz, Harold Prince, Jerry Herman and Cy Coleman. Last year's award was bestowed upon Carol Channing.

Tony Walton is the winner of three Tony Awards for his scenic designs for Pippin, The House of Blue Leaves and Guys and Dolls. He was also nominated for scenic design Tonys for Chicago, A Day in Hollywood/A Night in the Ukraine, The Real Thing, The Front Page, Lend Me a Tenor, Grand Hotel, The Will Rogers Follies, She Loves Me and Steel Pier. Walton received costume design Tony nominations for The Apple Tree and Anything Goes.

The Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Hotel is located in Manhattan at 145 West 44th Street. Tickets are available by calling (212) 867-1117. For more information visit www.yorktheatre.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: