PHOTO CALL: More From Chicago Shakespeare's Follies

News   PHOTO CALL: More From Chicago Shakespeare's Follies
Brent Barrett, Caroline O'Connor, Susan Moniz and Robert Petkoff star in Chicago Shakespeare Theater's production of Stephen Sondheim and James Goldman's Follies.

Director Gary Griffin's production on the thrust stage of CST's Courtyard Theater features a trio of Broadway stars (Robert Petkoff as Buddy, Caroline O'Connor as Phyllis, Brent Barrett as Ben), a wide swath of Chicago stars who have worked in productions together for the past 25 years (Susan Moniz as Sally, Hollis Resnik as Carlotta, Mike Nussbaum as Weismann, Kathy Taylor as Solange), a total company of 40 performers and musicians.

Here is a further look at the show:

Follies explores the memories, aches and distant show tunes of a collection of former Broadway revue stars (and showgirls) at a reunion commemorating the demolition of the Broadway theatre they once played. The show won 1972 Tony Awards for Best Score, Direction, Choreography and Scenic, Costume and Lighting Design. It nominated for Best Musical and Best Book of a Musical. Alexis Smith won a Tony as Best Actress in a Musical. Two couples — Ben and Phyllis and Buddy and Sally — emerge from the crowd and struggle to alternately hold onto or shed their illusions, build their futures and exorcise their demons.

The score, music-directed by Broadway's Brad Haak, includes "Beautiful Girls," "I'm Still Here," "Losing My Mind," "Waiting for the Girls Upstairs," "Could I Leave You?," "The Road You Didn't Take," "In Buddy's Eyes" and "Broadway Baby," among others.

The cast for Follies also includes Adrian Aguilar as Young Ben, Bill Chamberlain as Roscoe, Rachel Cantor as Young Phyllis, L.R. Davidson as Young Sally, David Elliott as Max Deems, Andrew Keltz as Young Buddy, Amanda Kroiss as Young Solange, Christina Myers as Young Stella, Kari Sorenson as Young Heidi, Amanda Tanguay as Young Carlotta, showgirls Jen Donohoo and Jenny Guse, and ensemble members Devin Archer, Julius C. Carter, Rhett Guter, Nate Lewellyn and Tanner Smale.

For tickets and information, call (312) 595-5600 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: