PS Classics to Record Tony-Winning La Cage aux Folles Revival

News   PS Classics to Record Tony-Winning La Cage aux Folles Revival
PS Classics, the label dedicated to the heritage of Broadway and American popular song, will record the 2010 Tony Award-winning revival of La Cage aux Folles — featuring Emmy winner Kelsey Grammer and Tony winner Douglas Hodge — Aug. 5 and 6 for a late September release.

The recording will be produced by PS Classics co-founder Tommy Krasker.  PS Classics co-founder Philip Chaffin will serve as executive producer.

The recording is currently available for pre-orders at PS Classics is distributed by Image Entertainment.

La Cage aux Folles features music and lyrics by Jerry Herman and book by Harvey Fierstein, based on the play by Jean Poiret. The production, which is choreographed by Lynne Page and directed by Tony Award winner Terry Johnson, originated at London's Menier Chocolate Factory.

Herman's tuneful score includes "The Best of Times," "Look Over There," "I Am What I Am," "Song On the Sand" and the title song. The musical earned the 1984 Tony Award for Best Original Score and Best Musical. An original cast album was made, but the 2004 revival did not get a disc.

Hodge, who originated the role of Albin in the London revival, earned both the Olivier (in London) and the Tony Award (on Broadway) for his performance. He is joined on Broadway by Tony Award nominee Grammer as his devoted partner Georges. The cast also includes Fred Applegate as Dindon; A.J. Shively, a recent University of Michigan graduate, making his Broadway debut as Jean-Michel; Tony nominee Veanne Cox (Company, Caroline, or Change) as Mme. Dindon/Mme. Renaud; Tony nominee Robin de Jesús (In the Heights) as Jacob; two-time Tony nominee Christine Andreas (My Fair Lady, Oklahoma!, On Your Toes) as Jacqueline; Elena Shaddow (Fiddler on the Roof, Fanny at Encores!) as Anne; Chris Hoch (Beauty and the Beast, Spamalot, Shrek the Musical) as Francis; Heather Lindell (Hairspray) as Colette; Bill Nolte (The Producers, 1776) as Tabarro and David Nathan Perlow (White Noise) as Etienne.

Appearing as the Cagelles are Nick Adams (A Chorus Line, Guys and Dolls, Chicago), Nicholas Cunningham (La Cage Aux Folles in the West End), Sean Patrick Doyle (Fiddler on the Roof national tour, Wig Out!), Yurel Echezarreta (West Side Story), Terry Lavell (Hairspray in Las Vegas, Smokey Joe's Café national tour) and Logan Keslar (West Side Story in the West End). The production also includes Christophe Caballero, Todd Lattimore, Dale Hensley, Caitlin Mundth and Cheryl Stern.

The production plays Broadway's Longacre Theatre. Visit LaCage.

Today’s Most Popular News: