Rhinebeck Writers Retreat Accepting Submissions for Summer 2014

News   Rhinebeck Writers Retreat Accepting Submissions for Summer 2014
Applications are now being accepted for the fourth annual Rhinebeck Writers Retreat, which provides a secluded summer getaway for writers of new musicals in the Hudson Valley.

Former National Alliance for Musical Theatre executive director Kathy Evans created the retreat, which welcomed its first group of writers during summer 2011.

Eight separate one-week residencies will be open to different teams/writers from June 29-Aug. 31. There is a $20 application fee. The submission deadline is Feb. 15. Writers may submit musicals at any stage of development, as long as it has not been published or licensed.

Writers are provided with transportation, housing, groceries and a $400 stipend during their stay. A limited number of travel grants up to $500 available for writers living outside of New York City are also available.

The retreat does not claim any stake in future royalties from participating musicals.

A panel of industry professionals aids in the selection process. In past years the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat has welcomed such writers as Stew and Heidi Rodewald; Duncan Sheik and Kyle Jarrow; Laura Eason, Jenny Giering, and Sean Barry; Itamar Moses and Gaby Alter; Alex Timbers and Michael Friedman; and Michael Kooman and Chris Dimond. The Rhinebeck Writers Retreat is supported by the ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund, The Dramatists Guild Fund, The Noël Coward Foundation, Stacey Mindich Productions; Rick Farrar and Jeff Zadroga; Amy Faxon; Michael A. Jenkins; Peter Risafi and Steven Wheeler; Harry, Cathy, Gabriella, and James Rubin Foundation; and Alec Stais and Elissa Burke.

To apply visit RhinebeckWriters.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: