Riabko Exits Broadway's Spring Awakening Aug. 2

News   Riabko Exits Broadway's Spring Awakening Aug. 2
Kyle Riabko, the singer-songwriter who made his Broadway debut in Spring Awakening, plays his final performance in that Tony-winning Broadway production Aug. 2.

Kyle Riabko as Spring's Melchior
Kyle Riabko as Spring's Melchior Photo by Joan Marcus

The Canadian musician, however, is only taking a brief hiatus from his role as Melchior; Riabko begins performances in the national tour of Spring Awakening Aug. 15 in San Diego.

"I have been performing and touring as a musician since I was ten years old. The fact that I now get to tour America as Melchior in Spring Awakening is an incredible dream come true," Riabko said in a previous statement.

"Weeds" star Hunter Parrish will succeed Riabko in the role of Melchior on Broadway beginning Aug. 18. Prior to Parrish's arrival, Jesse Swenson and Matt Doyle will alternate in the role of Spring Awakening's catalyst.

As previously announced, Blake Bashoff, who recently departed the Broadway cast of Spring Awakening, will also star in the show's national tour playing the ill-fated Moritz. Gerard Canonico, a member of the show's Broadway ensemble, recently succeeded Bashoff as Moritz at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre.

The Broadway cast of Spring Awakening currently features Alexandra Socha (Wendla), Blake Daniel (Ernst), Emma Hunton (Ilse), Matt Doyle (Hanschen), Andrew Durand (Georg), Amanda Castaños (Martha), Gabriel Violett (Otto), Emily Kinney (Anna), Caitlin Kinnunen (Thea), Christine Estabrook (Adult Women), Glenn Fleshler (Adult Men), Zach Reiner-Harris, Alice Lee, Eryn Murman, Jesse Swenson and Jenna Ushkowitz. Based on the 1891 play by Frank Wedekind, Spring Awakening won eight 2007 Tony Awards, including Best Musical. Spring Awakening features direction by Michael Mayer, choreography by Bill T. Jones, book and lyrics by Steven Sater and a score by Duncan Sheik.

Songs featured in the Tony-winning score are "All That's Known," "And Then There Were None," "Blue Wind/Don't Do Sadness," "Left Behind," "Mamma Who Bore Me," "My Junk, "The Bitch of Living," "The Dark I Know Well," "The Guilty Ones," "The Song of Purple Summer," "The Word of Your Body," "Those You've Known," "Totally Fucked," "Touch Me," "Whispering" and "The Mirror-Blue Night."

Spring Awakening's cast album earned a Grammy Award for Best Musical Show Album.

The musical made its world premiere Off-Broadway at the Atlantic Theater Company in June 2006. Spring Awakening transferred to Broadway the following November, where it continues to play at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre.

Kyle Riabko, whose solo recording "Before I Speak" is currently available on the Columbia Records label, has toured with musicians including Jason Mraz, Maroon 5 and John Mayer.

For further information visit www.springawakening.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: