Robert Whitehead Award to Be Presented to Raisin's Binder

News   Robert Whitehead Award to Be Presented to Raisin's Binder
David Binder, who produced last season's acclaimed revival of A Raisin in the Sun, will be presented with the Robert Whitehead Award Oct. 25.
David Binder
David Binder

Binder will receive the prestigious award — the first time it has been presented since Whitehead's death in 2002 — at a ceremony held in the American Airlines Theatre's Penthouse Lounge. Past recipients of the Robert Whitehead Award, named for the late producer whose career spanned five decades, include Benjamin Mordecai, Dennis Grimaldi, Randall L. Wreghitt, Marc Routh, Liz Oliver, Eric Krebs and Anne Strickland Squadron. The Commercial Theater Institute (CTI) established the Robert Whitehead Award in 1993 to honor "outstanding achievement in commercial theatre producing." In a statement CTI Executive Director said, "What is extraordinary about David is that he displays a true passion for theatre producing. As witnessed in his production of A Raisin in the Sun, it was his love of the play which led him on a four-year journey to get the rights, raise the money, find incredible talent and present an award winning production. I'm sure that Robert Whitehead would be proud to have such a talented young man following in his footsteps."

In addition to A Raisin in the Sun, David Binder produced the long-running De La Guarda and was the original New York producer of Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

A joint project of The League of American Theatres and Producers and Theatre Development Fund, CTI was founded in 1982. It is the nation's only formal training program which professionally trains commercial theatre producers.

Today’s Most Popular News: