Rory O'Malley, Wesley Taylor, Josh Lamon and More Join Cast of Little Miss Sunshine at Off-Broadway's Second Stage

News   Rory O'Malley, Wesley Taylor, Josh Lamon and More Join Cast of Little Miss Sunshine at Off-Broadway's Second Stage
Josh Lamon (Hair, Elf), Tony Award nominee Rory O'Malley (The Book of Mormon, 2ST's Nobody Loves You), David Rasche (2ST's Warrior Class), Logan Rowland (The Addams Family), Jennifer Sanchez (West Side Story) and Wesley Taylor ("Smash," Rock of Ages) have joined the cast of the new musical comedy Little Miss Sunshine, which will kick off Second Stage Theatre's 35th anniversary season Off-Broadway. 

Hannah Rose Nordberg
Hannah Rose Nordberg

They will join previously announced cast members Hanna Rose Nordberg (Creative Kids Youth Theater Project in Los Angeles) as Olive Hoover and Tony nominees Will Chase ("Smash," High Fidelity, Rent, Aida, Miss Saigon) and Stephanie J. Block (Second Stage's By the Way, Meet Vera StarkWicked; 9 to 5; Anything Goes; The Pirate Queen; The Boy from Oz), who will play her respective parents Richard, an aspiring motivational speaker, and Sheryl, the multi-tasking backbone of the Hoover clan.

O'Malley will play Frank Hoover, the recently dumped, heartbroken Proust scholar and uncle to Olive Hoover; Rasche will play Grandpa Hoover, Olive's most fervent supporter and biggest fan; Rowland will play the teenage Dwayne Hoover, who has sworn off speaking for the foreseeable future; Lamon and Sanchez will play Buddy and Miss California, the co-hosts of the Little Miss Sunshine pageant; and Taylor will play Joshua Rose, the ex-lover of Frank Hoover, who unexpectedly crosses paths with the Hoover family as they journey to the pageant.

An official opening night will be announced at a later date for the new musical by Tony Award winners William Finn and James Lapine.

The musical — which has undergone a major overhaul since its world premiere at California's La Jolla Playhouse in February 2011, retaining only three songs from the original version — will kick off 2ST's 35th season Oct. 15. It is based on the 2006 road-trip comedy film of the same name. 

"I am thrilled to kick off our 35th anniversary season with Little Miss Sunshine and to welcome back William Finn and James Lapine, two artists who have significant histories with Second Stage, most recently with our production of their musical, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee," said Second Stage artistic director Carole Rothman in an earlier statement. "It seems appropriate to kick off this landmark season with a musical about optimism and resiliency, two qualities that are crucial for any not-for-profit theatre celebrating its past while also looking to its future. I can't wait to introduce this exuberant, funny, and sophisticated new musical to our audience." Rothman told the New York Times that there are currently no plans for a Broadway transfer after the show's Off-Broadway run, although Broadway producers Beth Williams and Barbara Whitman are providing some financial support for the fall production.

The musical will feature scenic design by Beowulf Boritt, costume design by Jennifer Caprio, lighting design by Ken Billington and sound design by Jon Weston. Choreography will be by Michele Lynch, and the music director will be Vadim Feichtner.

Here's how 2ST bills the musical, which will be directed by Lapine: "On life's twisty road, sometimes you need to pull over and change direction. When the coveted title of 'Little Miss Sunshine' is unexpectedly within her reach, young Olive Hoover convinces her family to make the 800 mile trek to the pre-teen pageant of her dreams. Along the way, a series of mishaps threatens to derail the group's quest for the crown, until they realize a young girl’s far-fetched goal may actually hold the key to the family's happiness. From the Tony Award-winning team of James Lapine and William Finn comes Little Miss Sunshine, a new musical comedy about one modern family’s unexpected route to brighter days."

La Jolla presented a private reading of the musical, featuring Raúl Esparza and Sherie Rene Scott under the direction of Lapine, in September 2011.

Finn penned music and lyrics, and Lapine wrote the libretto. Their previous collaborations include A New Brain, Falsettos and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.

"Little Miss Sunshine," which was nominated for four Academy Awards, follows a dysfunctional family as they road-trip to California so their young daughter can compete in a beauty pageant.

For subscription or ticket information, call the Second Stage Box Office at (212) 246-4422 or visit Second Stage’s Tony Kiser Theatre is located at 305 West 43rd Street (just west of Eighth Avenue).

Jennifer Laura Thompson, Malcolm Gets, Georgi James, Hunter Foster and Taylor Trensch
Jennifer Laura Thompson, Malcolm Gets, Georgi James, Hunter Foster and Taylor Trensch
Today’s Most Popular News: