Scott Rudin to Receive David O. Selznick Award from PGA

News   Scott Rudin to Receive David O. Selznick Award from PGA
Academy and Tony Award-winning producer Scott Rudin has been named the recipient of the 2011 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures, which will be presented by the Producers Guild of America in January.

Rudin, whose recent projects include the Oscar-winning "No Country for Old Men" and the Tony-winning revival of Fences, is being recognized for his outstanding body of work in motion pictures.

The honor will be presented Jan. 22, 2011, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles during the 22nd annual PGA Awards.

"This is an extraordinary honor, and I'm thrilled to join the company of the distinguished filmmakers who have previously received this award," Rudin said in a statement. "I'm very grateful to the Producers Guild and pleased to accept this on behalf of the tremendous array of artists who have made such enormous contributions to the films we’ve made together."

Rudin will be represented on Broadway this spring with the premiere of Stephen Adly Guirgis' Motherf**cker with the Hat and The Book of Mormon, the latter from the creators of "South Park." His numerous stage projects have included Gypsy with Patti LuPone; God of Carnage; Exit the King; The Vertical Hour; The History Boys; Well; Passion; Closer; Amy's View; The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?; and Caroline, or Change. His films include "The Social Network," "Doubt," "Julie & Julia," "First Wives Club," "The Hours," "Closer," "The Queen," "There Will Be Blood," "Notes on a Scandal," "In and Out," "The Addams Family" and "Sister Act."

Previous recipients of the Selznick Award are Stanley Kramer, Saul Zaentz, Clint Eastwood, Billy Wilder, Robert Evans, Brian Grazer, Jerry Bruckheimer, Roger Corman, Laura Ziskin, Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall and John Lasseter.

Today’s Most Popular News: