Second Stage Theater Honors Torch Song Playwright Harvey Fierstein

Photos   Second Stage Theater Honors Torch Song Playwright Harvey Fierstein
Cyndi Lauper, Shoshana Bean, Marissa Jaret Winokur, and members from the original cast of Hairspray celebrated the Tony-winning writer and performer at the gala.
Michael Hsu Rosen, Roxanna Hope Radja, Michael Urie, Harvey Fierstein, Jack DiFalco, and Ward Horton Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Second Stage Theater honored Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein at its November 12 gala with a celebration featuring cast members and collaborators from his theatrical career, including Shoshana Bean, Bianca Del Rio, Gino Emnes, J. Harrison Ghee, Cyndi Lauper, Jen Perry, Keala Settle, Christopher Sieber, Michael Urie, Marissa Jaret Winokur, and the original Hairspray Dynamites.

Following an extended Off-Broadway run at Second Stage last season, Fierstein’s landmark work Torch Song Trilogy returns to Broadway this fall (now titled Torch Song) for the first time since winning dual Tony Awards for Best Play in 1982.

The cast of the Torch Song revival also took part in the tribute, including Urie, Mercedes Ruehl, Ward Horton, Jack DiFalco, Roxanna Hope Radja, and Michael Hsu Rosen.

The celebration was directed by Fierstein’s Tony Award-winning Hairspray collaborator Jerry Mitchell, and written by Tony nominee Chad Beguelin.

The event was co-chaired by Robert Greenblatt, Richie Jackson, and Jordan Roth with Honorary Chairs Cyndi Lauper and Joe Mantello.

The attendees posed with puppies who are all adoptable through the North Shore Animal League America.

Flip through photos of the evening below:

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: