Second Stage Theatre Establishes Donna Perret Rosen Award for Excellence in Musical Theatre

News   Second Stage Theatre Establishes Donna Perret Rosen Award for Excellence in Musical Theatre
Second Stage Theatre, under the artistic direction of Carole Rothman, has established The Donna Perret Rosen Award, an annual cash prize to be awarded to a promising composer-lyricist.

The $10,000 award was established at the Off-Broadway company’s annual gala to honor Second Stage Theatre trustee Donna Perret Rosen in recognition of her long-standing commitment to young artists and new works.

The first Donna Perret Rosen Award will be presented in 2012 and will be chosen by Tony Award winners James Lapine, Susan Stroman and Jack Viertel.

“Donna Perret Rosen is one of the most passionate advocates for the arts in New York City and I am very excited to celebrate her contributions by establishing this award in her honor,” said artistic director Rothman in a statement.

Perret Rosen is a life-long advocate for music and art and has been on the Board of Second Stage Theatre since 2003. For 23 years, she was the director of New Orleans’ legendary Galerie Simonne Stern. Perret Rosen was recently honored at Second Stage Theatre’s annual gala, which raised over $1 million dollars for the not-for-profit company.

Second Stage Theatre was founded in 1979 under the leadership of artistic director Rothman and produces a diverse range of premieres and new interpretations of America’s best contemporary theatre. Second Stage Theatre has also acquired the right to purchase the Helen Hayes Theatre. With this new home, Second Stage will be the only theatre company on Broadway dedicated exclusively to the development and presentation of contemporary American theatrical productions. Second Stage will also become one of only four non-profit theatre companies that own and operate theatres on Broadway.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: