Sondheim to Present LuPone with Drama League Award May 5

News   Sondheim to Present LuPone with Drama League Award May 5
Tony Award winner Patti LuPone, who currently stars in the acclaimed revival of Stephen Sondheim's Sweeney Todd, will be among those honored at the Drama League's 72nd Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon.

The May 5 ceremony, which will be held at the Marriot Marquis Hotel in Times Square, will honor LuPone as well as veteran actress Marian Seldes and director Des McAnuff.

Stephen Sondheim will present LuPone with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award; Aaron Sorkin will present the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing to Des McAnuff; and Terrence McNally will present Marian Seldes with the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award.

Alan Cumming, who is currently in previews for the revival of The Threepenny Opera, will host the annual luncheon, which begins at noon.

Tickets, priced $150-$450, are available by calling (212) 244-9494, ext. 5 or by visiting

* The Drama League's nominations for the Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and Distinguished Performance awards will be announced on April 18.

The cut-off date for this year’s nominations is Sunday, April 16 (Monday, April 17 for shows with Monday performances). Productions evaluated after April 17 will be considered for the 2006-2007 Drama League Awards.

The Drama League is devoted to supporting and strengthening theatre in America "by broadening and stimulating the audience for quality theatre and by developing emerging talents for careers in the theatre."

For further information, please visit

Today’s Most Popular News: