Ted Chapin Named American Theatre Wing Board Chairman | Playbill

Related Articles
News Ted Chapin Named American Theatre Wing Board Chairman Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization president Ted Chapin has been elected the chairman of the American Theatre Wing.

Chapin succeeds chairmen Sondra Gilman and president Doug Leeds, who conclude their four-year terms this year. Chapin has served on the board of the American Theatre Wing since 1996 as both secretary and vice president.

Chapin will serve as chairman of the Wing's board of directors, which also welcomes several new appointees: Tony-nominated actress Kate Burton, New Vernon Capital Group's James Higgins, Bruce Redditt of the Omnicom Group, and Sally Susman of Pfizer Inc.

"I'm honored to lead the board of an organization with such a rich history of service to the theatre community," Chapin said in a statement. "The Wing has grown a great deal in the past few years, and I look forward to having us all realize the many opportunities available to us as we, in turn, create more opportunities for students, aspiring and working professionals, and the general public to learn more about the inner workings of theatre.

"All of us on the board are indebted to Sondra and Doug for their leadership through a period of transition and significant change for the Wing, following the passing of Isabelle Stevenson at the end of [2003]. It was a profoundly important period in the long life of this company, which has roots dating back to World War I, and we are a stronger company thanks to their efforts."

Executive Director Howard Sherman has also extended his stay with the Wing through 2011. ATW officers include vice presidents Michael P. Price and Jane Safer, treasurer David Brown and secretary Alan Siegel. In addition to his role as president and executive director of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization, Chapin serves on the Tony Administration Committee, is the chairman of the Advisory Committee for New York City Center's Encores!, and is a board member of Goodspeed Musicals, Connecticut College and City Center.

Chapin's personal account of the landmark Harold Prince, Stephen Sondheim and James Goldman musical Follies – "Everything Was Possible: The Birth of The Musical Follies" – was published in 2003.


The American Theatre Wing is best known as the creator of the Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards, which it presents annually with the Broadway League. For more information visit www.americantheatrewing.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!