The Jimmy Awards Will Once Again Live Stream on Facebook | Playbill

Awards The Jimmy Awards Will Once Again Live Stream on Facebook The ceremony, known formally as the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, will take place June 24; Ben Platt returns to host.
Jimmy_Awards_2018_Andrew Barth Feldman. Renee Rapp_HR.jpg
Andrew Barth Feldman and Reneé Rapp Henry McGee/NHSMTA

For the second consecutive year, the entire Jimmy Awards ceremony will stream live on Facebook. The Facebook Live presentation is, like last year, presented in partnership by the Broadway League Foundation and Dear Evan Hansen.

Dear Evan Hansen original star and Tony winner Ben Platt will host the 11th annual ceremony, returning after serving as emcee for the awards in 2017.

Ben Platt Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The awards—formally known as the National High School Musical Theatre Awards—first took to Facebook Live in 2016 with red carpet coverage and the winners announcements, expanding to the full ceremony (including the signature medleys and finalists’ solos) last year.

Named in honor of producer and theatre owner James M. Nederlander, the ceremony marks the culmination of a record 43 regional competitions from across the U.S. Two winners from each of those programs will be sent to New York City to partake in a week of events, workshops, and master classes before taking the Broadway stage themselves to compete for the titles of Best Performance by an Actor and Actress.

Last year’s winners, Andrew Barth Feldman and Reneé Rapp, are both now in starring roles on Broadway—in Dear Evan Hansen and Mean Girls, respectively.

Apples and Oranges Arts once again serves as the video production partner for the live stream. The official media partner is WABC-TV.

Go Inside the 2018 Jimmy Awards Hosted by Laura Benanti

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!