THE SCREENING ROOM: Raúl Esparza and Leap of Faith Cast Members Record Radio Spot (Video)

News   THE SCREENING ROOM: Raúl Esparza and Leap of Faith Cast Members Record Radio Spot (Video)
Tony nominee Raúl Esparza and cast members of Leap of Faith, the upcoming Broadway musical that features music by Alan Menken and lyrics by Glenn Slater, recently took to the studio to record a radio spot for the new musical.

Directed by Tony Award nominee Christopher Ashley, Leap of Faith features Esparza as Jonas Nightingale, Jessica Phillips as Marla Humes, Kendra Kassebaum as Sam Nightingale, Kecia Lewis-Evans as Ida Mae Robinson, Leslie Odom, Jr. as Isaiah Robinson, Krystal Joy Brown as Ornella and Talon Ackerman as Jake Humes.

The company will also feature Hettie Barnhill, Kyle Brenn, Ta’Rea Campbell, Michelle Duffy, Lynorris Evans, Manoly Farrell, Dierdre Friel, Bob Gaynor, Lucia Giannetta, Angela Grovey, Louis Hobson, Tiffany Howard, Grasan Kingsberry, Fletcher McTaggart, Maurice Murphy, Ian Paget, Terita Redd, Eliseo Roman, Bryce Ryness, Ann Sanders, C.E. Smith, Danny Stiles, Dennis Stowe, Betsy Struxness, Roberta Wall and Virginia Ann Woodruff.

Here's how producers bill Leap of Faith: "When his traveling ministry breaks down in a small Kansas town, part-time reverend and full-time con artist Jonas Nightingale (Esparza) quickly pitches a tent and invites the locals to a revival. The town sheriff, Marla Humes (Phillips) is determined to stop him from separating the townspeople from their money." The musical is based on the motion picture written by Janus Cercone, who shares libretto credit with Tony Award winner Warren Leight ("Side Man").

The Broadway production will begin previews April 3, prior to an official opening April 26, at the St. James Theatre.

To catch a glimpse of the cast in the recording studio, look below:

Today’s Most Popular News: