Tony Awards Will Go Hostless; 60 Stars to Present at 2006 Ceremony

News   Tony Awards Will Go Hostless; 60 Stars to Present at 2006 Ceremony
The 2006 Tony Awards will not feature a host. Instead, over 60 stars will present awards at the annual ceremony, which will be held June 11 at Radio City Music Hall.

Among those scheduled to present awards include Oprah Winfrey, Glenn Close, Hank Azaria, Bernadette Peters, Liev Schreiber, Kyra Sedgwick, Mark Ruffalo, Julia Roberts, Eric McCormack, Ralph Fiennes, Cynthia Nixon, Martin Short, Alfre Woodward and Anna Paquin.

In a statement the executive producers of the Tony telecast, Glenn Weiss and Ricky Kirshner, said, "The 60th Anniversary show is bigger than just one host. So we've put together a line-up of 60 stars from the stage to lead our celebration."

Nominations for the 2006 Tony Awards were announced May 16. The Drowsy Chaperone, the new musical that pays homage to musical theatre lovers, received 13 nominations, the most for any production of the season. The Color Purple — based on the film and book of the same name — also did well, snagging 11 nominations, and the hit revival of The Pajama Game, which marked the Broadway debut of Harry Connick Jr., received 9 nominations. Crowd favorite Jersey Boys — based on the life and music of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons — earned 8 nominations. Plays that received multiple nominations include the Lincoln Center Theater revival of Awake and Sing! That Clifford Odets drama, set in the Bronx in the 1930's, received 8 nominations, while the new Alan Bennett play The History Boys — featuring its entire original London cast — nabbed seven nominations.

The 2006 Tony Awards will be broadcast live on CBS-TV June 11, 8-11 PM ET; check local listings. The Tony Awards are celebrating their 60th anniversary this year.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: