Upcoming Cast Recordings

News   Upcoming Cast Recordings
Here is a survey of recent cast album releases (and significant Broadway-related releases), and a schedule of those announced for 2002.

Here is a survey of recent cast album releases (and significant Broadway-related releases), and a schedule of those announced for 2002.


And Then There’s Bea

  • Release: Feb. 12
  • Label: DRG Records
  • Writers: various
  • Performers: cast of the 2000 national tour
  • Miscellaneous: Featuring musical director Billy Goldenberg at piano, this album was recorded live Dec. 12-13 at the Royal Poinciana in West Palm Beach, FL.

Dreamgirls (2001 Concert Recording)

  • Release: Feb. 26
  • Label: Nonesuch
  • Writers: music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Tom Eyen
  • Performers: Audra McDonald, Heather Headley, Lillias White, among others.
  • Miscellaneous: This will be a 2 CD release.



  • Release: Feb. 28
  • Label: Original Cast Records
  • Writers: Johnny Mercer and Robert Emmet
  • Performers: The Musicals Tonight Revival Cast.

Elaine Stritch at Liberty

  • Release: Apr. 9
  • Label: DRG
  • Writers: various
  • Performer: Elaine Stritch.
  • The album was recorded live Jan. 10-11 at the Public Theater. There will be a limited release at the Neil Simon Theatre prior to wide distribution.

The Spitfire Grill

  • Release: early 2002
  • Label: private release
  • Writers: music by James Valcq, lyrics by Fred Alley
  • Performers: Liz Callaway, Garret Long, and the 2001 Playwrights Horizons cast.

Lovely Ladies, Kind Gentlemen

  • Release: mid 2002
  • Label: Original Cast Records
  • Writers: music and lyrics by Stan Freeman and Franklin Underwood
  • Performers: Lou Diamond Phillips, Charles Nelson Reilly, Eleanor Calbes, Mickey Rooney, and others.
  • Miscellaneous: This is a studio recording of the 1970 flop, a musicalization of The Teahouse of the August Moon.

Putting It Together

  • Release: TBA
  • Label: TBA
  • Writers: music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
  • Performers: Carol Burnett, George Hearn, Ruthie Henshall, Bronson Pinchot, and John Barrowman
  • Miscellaneous: This live recording was made in conjuction with the videotaping of the production for future broadcast.

The Capeman (1998 Broadway Cast Album)

  • Release: TBA
  • Label: DreamWorks Records
  • Writers: music by Paul Simon, lyrics by Simon and Derek Walcott
  • Performers: Reuben Blades, Marc Anthony, Ednita Nazario and the original Broadway cast
  • Miscellaneous notes: This full original cast album includes much material not on the 1997 "Songs From Capeman" CD, and has the Broadway cast members singing numbers that were performed on "Songs From..." by composer Paul Simon.

Other Recordings: Stephen Schwartz: Uncharted Territory – Fynsworth Alley – Jan. 29
Barbra Streisand: The Essential Barbra Streisand – Columbia – Jan. 29
A Broadway Valentine – Fynsworth Alley – Feb. 5
Highlights from Disney on Broadway – Disney – Feb. 5
Jack Donahue: Lighthouse – LML Music – Feb. 12
Linda Eder: Gold – Atlantic – Feb. 12
My Favorite Broadway: The Love Songs – WEA/London/Sire – Feb. 20
Bernadette Peters: Bernadette Peters Loves Rodgers and Hammerstein – Angel – Mar.
Darius de Haas: Billy Strayhorn Tribute – ps classics – 2002

No Recording Announced:

Summer of ‘42
The Last Five Years
Sweet Smell of Success


Pete ‘n’ Keely

  • Release: Dec. 4, 2001
  • Label: Fynsworth Alley
  • Writers: various
  • Performers: Sally Mayes and George Dvorsky. P>

Do I Hear a Waltz? (Pasadena Playhouse Cast)

  • Release: Dec. 4, 2001
  • Label: Fynsworth Alley
  • Writers: music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
  • Performers: Alyson Reed, Anthony Crivello and the Pasadena Playhouse Cast. P>

The Ziegfeld Follies of 1936

  • Release: Nov. 19, 2001
  • Label: Decca Broadway
  • Writers: music by Vernon Duke, lyrics by Ira Gershwin
  • Performers: The 1999 Encores! cast including Karen Ziemba, Ruthie Henshall, and Stephanie Pope.
  • Miscellaneous: Recorded shortly after the 1999 Encores! presentation, the recording was released in late 2001.

Peter Pan (2000 TV Soundtrack)

  • Release: Nov. 14, 2001
  • Label: JAY Records
  • Writers: Moose Charlap, Carolyn Leigh, Jule Styne, Betty Comden and Adolph Green
  • Performers: Cathy Rigby and the cast of the 2000 television broadcast.
  • Miscellaneous: The A&E television production was based on the 1997 Broadway revival.


  • Release: Nov. 13, 2001
  • Label: Fynsworth Alley
  • Writer: Michael Frayn
  • Performers: Philip Bosco, Michael Cumpsty and Blair Brown
  • Miscellaneous: This is a 2-CD recording of the entire play.

Radio City Christmas Spectacular

  • Release: Nov. 7, 2001
  • Label: Legacy/Sony Direct/Radio City Records
  • Writers: various
  • Performers: cast of the Radio City Christmas Spectacular
  • Miscellaneous: This is a compilation of Christmas-themed songs performed in the annual extravaganza.

Guys and Dolls (2000 National Tour)

  • Release: Nov. 6, 2001
  • Label: DRG
  • Writers: Frank Loesser
  • Performers: Maurice Hines, Alexandra Foucard, Brian Sutherland, and the 2000 National touring cast.


  • Release: Oct. 16, 2001
  • Label: Original Cast Records
  • Writers: music by Roger Anderson and lyrics by Lee Goldsmith
  • Performers: The company of the 2001 National Music Theatre Network’s staged reading.

By Jeeves

  • Release: Oct. 16, 2001
  • Label: Decca Broadway
  • Writers: music by Andrew Lloyd Webber, lyrics by Alan Ayckbourn
  • Performers: John Scherer and Martin Jarvis and the 2000 Pittsburgh Public Theater production.

The Frogs/Evening Primrose

Through the Years

  • Release: Oct. 2, 2001
  • Label: ps classics
  • Writers: lyrics by John Latouche
  • Performers: The cast of the original Off-Broadway production.
  • Miscellaneous: This album is produced by Robert Sher.

Other Recordings: The Total Experience Choir Performing Songs Inspired by Intiman Theatre's Stage Production of Black Nativity – Intiman/Starbucks - Dec. 2001
Christine Ebersole: Live at the Cinegrill - Wailing – Dec. 2001
Subways Are for Sleeping (reissue) – Fynsworth Alley – Dec. 2001
Karen Mason: When the Sun Comes Out – Jerome Records – Nov. 27
Home for the Holidays - Centaur – Nov. 23
Louise Pitre: All My Life Has Led to This – LML Music – Oct. 8

— Compiled by Andrew Ku

Today’s Most Popular News: