West End's Olivier Award Winners Announced Feb. 14

News   West End's Olivier Award Winners Announced Feb. 14
Nicholas Wright's Vincent in Brixton was named Best New Play and the Madness/Tim Firth production Our House was declared the Best New Musical at the 2003 Olivier Awards, which were presented at London's Lyceum Theatre Feb. 14.

Although the Tony Awards do not recognize replacement actors, the Olivier Awards do; in fact, this year's awards for Best Actor and Actress in a Musical went to Alex Jennings and Joanna Riding, who both stepped into the London production of My Fair Lady after its opening.

The complete list of nominees (with winner's names in bold) of the 27th annual Laurence Olivier Awards are listed below. BBC2 television in London will broadcast the awards presentation on Feb. 15 at 8:30 PM.

Best Actress:
Anita Dobson for Frozen (Cottesloe)
Clare Higgins for Vincent in Brixton (Cottesloe, Wyndham's)
Gwyneth Paltrow for Proof (Donmar Warehouse)
Emily Watson for Uncle Vanya (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Actor:
Michael Gambon for A Number (Downstairs at the Royal Court)
Simon Russell Beale for Uncle Vanya (Donmar Warehouse)
Mark Rylance for Twelfth Night (Shakespeare's Globe)
David Tennant for Lobby Hero (Donmar Warehouse, New Ambassadors)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role:
Essie Davis for A Streetcar Named Desire (Lyttelton)
Jessica Stevenson for The Night Heron (Downstairs at the Royal Court)
Mark Strong for Twelfth Night (Donmar Warehouse)
Sian Thomas for Up For Grabs (Wyndham's) The BBC Award For Best New Play:
Jesus Hopped the A Train by Stephen Adly Guirgis (Donmar Warehouse)
The Coast of Utopia Trilogy by Tom Stoppard (Olivier)
The York Realist by Peter Gill (Downstairs at the Royal Court, Strand)
Vincent in Brixton by Nicholas Wright (Cottesloe, Wyndham's)

Best New Comedy:
Damsels in Distress — Role Playby Alan Ayckbourn (Duchess)
Dinner by Moira Buffini (Littleton Loft)
Lobby Hero by Kenneth Lonergan (Donmar Warehouse, New Ambassadors)
The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh (The Pit, Garrick)

Best Revival:
Abigail's Party by Mike Leigh (New Ambassadors)
A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams (Lyttelton)
Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare and Uncle Vanya by Anton Chekhov, a version of the play by Brian Friel (Donmar Warehouse)
Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare (Shakespeare's Globe)

The Hilton Award For Best Musical:
Bombay Dreams music A R Rahman, lyrics Don Black, book Meera Syal based on an idea by Shekhar Kapur and Andrew Lloyd Webber (Apollo Victoria)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang music and lyrics Richard M Sherman and Robert B Sherman, adapted for the stage by Jeremy Sams, based on the MGM/United Artists Motion Picture (London Palladium)
Our House by Tim Firth, music and lyrics Madness (Cambridge)
Taboo music and lyrics Boy George, book Mark Davies (The Venue)

Outstanding Musical Production:
Anything Goes music and lyrics Cole Porter, original book PG Wodehouse, Guy Bolton, Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse, new book by Timothy Crouse & John Weidman (Olivier)
Oh What a Lovely War, Joan Littlewood's musical entertainment by Theatre Workshop, Charles Chilton, Gerry Raffles and Members of the Original Cast (Open Air)

Best Entertainment
Contact by Susan Stroman and John Weidman (Queen's)
Elaine Stritch at Liberty constructed by John Lahr, reconstructed by Elaine Stritch (The Old Vic)
Play Without Words devised by Matthew Bourne, music Terry Davies (Lyttelton)
Rory Bremner With John Bird and John Fortune (Albery)

Best Actress in a Musical or Entertainment:
Janie Dee for My One and Only (Piccadilly)
Joanna Riding for My Fair Lady (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)
Elaine Stritch for Elaine Stritch At Liberty (The Old Vic)
Sarah Wildor for Contact (Queen's)

Best Actor in a Musical or Entertainment:
Tim Flavin for My One and Only (Piccadilly)
Alex Jennings for My Fair Lady (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)
Michael Jibson for Our House (Cambridge)
Euan Morton for Taboo (The Venue)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical or Entertainment:
Paul Baker for Taboo (The Venue)
Sharon D. Clarke for We Will Rock You (Dominion)
Jenny Galloway for My One And Only (Piccadilly)
Nichola McAuliffe for Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (London Palladium)
Craig Urbani for Contact (Queen's)

Best Director:
Matthew Bourne for Play Without Words (Lyttelton)
Richard Eyre for Vincent in Brixton (Cottesloe)
Edward Hall for Rose Rage (Haymarket)
Sam Mendes for Twelfth Night and Uncle Vanya in repertory (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Theatre Choreographer:
Matthew Bourne and the Company for Play Without Words (Lyttelton)
Peter Darling for Our House (Cambridge)
Craig Revel Horwood for My One And Only (Piccadilly)
Susan Stroman for Contact (Queen's)

Best Set Design:
A Streetcar Named Desire designed by Bunny Christie (Lyttelton)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang designed by Anthony Ward (London Palladium)
Play Without Words designed by Lez Brotherston (Lyttelton)
The Coast Of Utopia designed by William Dudley (Olivier)

Best Costume Design:
Bombay Dreams designed by Mark Thompson
Taboo designed by Mike Nicholls
The Coast of Utopia designed by William Dudley
Twelfth Night designed by Jenny Tiramani

Best Lighting Design:
A Streetcar Named Desire designed by Paul Pyant
Play Without Words designed by Paule Constable
The Bacchai designed by Peter Mumford
The Coast of Utopia designed by David Hersey

Most Promising Playwright:
Charlotte Eilenberg for The Lucky Ones
Christopher Shinn for Where Do We Live

Most Promising Performer:
Noel Clarke for Where Do We Live
Toby Dantzic for Where Do We Live
Sam Heughan for Outlying Islands
Sid Mitchell for The Dead Eye Boy

Best New Opera Production:
The Royal Opera's Ariadne Auf Naxos
The Royal Opera's Duke Bluebeard's Castle/Erwartung
English National Opera's Lulu
The Royal Opera's Wozzeck

Outstanding Achievement in Opera:
Robert Alagna and Angela Gheorghiu for their performances in La Rondine
Antonio Pappano for a distinguished opening to his tenure as Music Director of the Royal Opera with Ariadne Aux Naxos and Wozzeck
Lisa Saffer for her performance in Lulu

Best New Dance Production:
New York City Ballet's Polyphonia
Rosas' Rain
Rennie Harris Puremovement's Rome and Jewels
The Royal Ballet's Tryst

Outstanding Achievement in Dance:
The company of Kontakthof at the Barbican
Chiaki Nagao for her performance in Madame Butterfly
Robyn Orlin for the creative originality of Daddy, I've Seen This Piece Six Times and I Still Don't Know Why They're Hurting Each Other
Christopher Wheeldon for his choreography of Tryst and Polyphonia

Outstanding Achievement Award:
Gregory Doran, for the RSC season of five Jacobean plays at the Gielgud

Special Award:
Sam Mendes, former artistic director of the Donmar Warehouse

Today’s Most Popular News: