White Noise's Chicago Premiere Will Star Luba Mason, Rodney Hicks, MacKenzie Mauzy, John Hickok

News   White Noise's Chicago Premiere Will Star Luba Mason, Rodney Hicks, MacKenzie Mauzy, John Hickok
The eight-week Chicago run of White Noise, the new rock musical about a pop sister act that performs White Supremacy-laced songs, will feature Broadway's Luba Mason, Rodney Hicks, MacKenzie Mauzy, John Hickok and more.

MacKenzie Mauzy
MacKenzie Mauzy

The musical, co-produced by Whoopi Goldberg, will be directed and choreographed by Broadway's Sergio Trujillo (Next to Normal, The Addams Family, Jersey Boys, Memphis). It will play the Royal George Theatre starting April 1 toward an opening of April 9.

Goldberg and her fellow producers of the provocative new rock musical officially announced casting for the Chicago premiere on Feb. 21.

Here's how the musical is billed: "White Noise is a provocative new rock musical that follows a pair of sisters who are discovered by a powerful record producer, and groomed into a well-packaged rock/pop band, which mixes irresistible harmonies with coded rhetoric into chart-blazing hits. Inspired by real life, White Noise fuses today's headlines and blogs into a cautionary tale that challenges conventional notions of free speech, media and the power of pop culture."

The "White Noise" band will include MacKenzie Mauzy (Next to Normal, Cry-Baby, "Guiding Light") as Eva, Emily Padgett (Rock of Ages, Grease, Legally Blonde) as Eden, Patrick Murney (The Abingdon Theater, Edinburgh Fringe Festival) as Duke and Eric Morris (Mamma Mia!, Coram Boy) as Jake. The "Bloodbrothas" rap duo is played by Wallace Smith (American Idiot, Hair, The Lion King) as Dion and Rodney Hicks (The Scottsboro Boys, Rent, Jesus Christ Superstar) as Tyler. Also featured are John Hickok (Little Women, Aida) as Max, Luba Mason (How to Succeed…, Chicago) as Laurel and Michael Buchanan (Cry-Baby, Urinetown at the Mercury Theatre) as Teal Waters. The cast of 21 also includes Joseph Anthony Byrd, Kelli Eileen LaValle, Tess Soltau, Ashley Adamek, Erin McGrath, John Arthur Greene, and Constantine Rousouli.

The musicians featured in White Noise include Jesse Vargas (musical director, keyboard), Matt Hinkley (keyboard), Hannah Ford (drums), Ben Mason (bass) and a guitarist to be announced. White Noise features a book by Matte O'Brien and music and lyrics by Robert Morris, Steven Morris and Joe Shane. White Noise was originally conceived by Ryan J. Davis with a story and characters by Joe Drymala.

The set is designed by Robert Brill, costumes by Paul Tazewell, lights by Jason Lyons, sound by Garth Helm, and multi-media design by Raj Kapoor.

Goldberg said in a statement, "White Noise smacks you in a challenging, emotional and entertaining way. The producing team looks forward to bring this unflinchingly honest new production to Chicago where audiences are sophisticated, aware and open to a musical that will certainly remind them of today's headlines and might awaken a new awareness of current social issues."

White Noise is produced by Holly Way, Jay Strommen, Jimmy Mack, Deborah Taylor, Chris Bensinger, Tom Leonardis and Whoopi Goldberg.

Performances will continue to June 5. For tickets, call (312) 988-9000, or visit TicketMaster.com or www.whitenoisetickets.com.

For more information, visit www.whitenoisebroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: