Your Vote Counts at 2003 Tony Awards

Tony Awards   Your Vote Counts at 2003 Tony Awards
Enthusiastic theatre lovers can take part in a poll now being conducted by the Tony Awards on the newly revised Tony website.

The website — located at — features a poll to choose the “Best of the Best”: the favorite Best Play award winner in Tony history. The two-part vote is now underway. Through June 7, those interested can choose their top five favorite Tony-winning plays. On Saturday, June 7 the top five plays will be announced on the site. Voters will then have the opportunity to select their one favorite play from those final five. The one show chosen from that list will be announced live on the June 8 Tony Awards telecast. The Tony Award-winning Best Plays — from 1948 through 2002 — follow:

1948 Mister Roberts by Thomas Heggen and Joshua Logan
1949 Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
1950 The Cocktail Party by T. S. Eliot
1951 The Rose Tattoo by Tennessee Williams
1952 The Fourposter by Jan de Hartog
1953 The Crucible by Arthur Miller
1954 The Teahouse of the August Moon by John Patrick
1955 The Desperate Hours by Joseph Hayes
1956 The Diary of Anne Frank by Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett
1957 Long Day's Journey Into Night by Eugene O'Neill
1958 Sunrise at Campobello by Dore Schary
1959 J.B. by Archibald MacLeish.
1960 The Miracle Worker by William Gibson
1961 Beckett by Jean Anouilh, translated by Lucienne Hill
1962 A Man for All Seasons by Robert Bolt
1963 Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
1964 Luther by John Osborne
1965 The Subject Was Roses by Frank Gilroy
1966 Marat/Sade by Peter Weiss. English version by Geoffrey Skelton
1967 The Homecoming by Harold Pinter
1968 Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard
1969 The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler
1970 Borstal Boy by Frank McMahon
1971 Sleuth by Anthony Shaffer
1972 Sticks and Bones by David Rabe
1973 That Championship Season by Jason Miller
1974 The River Niger by Joseph A. Walker
1975 Equus by Peter Shaffer
1976 Travesties by Tom Stoppard
1977 The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer
1978 Da by Hugh Leonard
1979 The Elephant Man by Bernard Pomerance
1980 Children of a Lesser God by Mark Medoff
1981 Amadeus by Peter Shaffer
1982 The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby by David Edgar
1983 Torch Song Trilogy by Harvey Fierstein
1984 The Real Thing by Tom Stoppard
1985 Biloxi Blues by Neil Simon
1986 I'm Not Rappaport by Herb Gardner
1987 Fences by August Wilson
1988 M. Butterfly by David Henry Hwang
1989 The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein
1990 The Grapes of Wrath by Frank Galati
1991 Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon
1992 Dancing at Lughnasa by Brian Friel
1993 Angels in America: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner
1994 Angels in America: Perestroika by Tony Kushner
1995 Love! Valour! Compassion! By Terrence McNally
1996 Master Class by Terrence McNally
1997 The Last Night of Ballyhoo by Alfred Uhry
1998 Art by Yasmina Reza
1999 Side Man by Warren Leight
2000 Copenhagen by Michael Frayn
2001 Proof by David Auburn
2002 The Goat or Who Is Sylvia? by Edward Albee

The 2003 Tony Awards will be aired on CBS-TV from 8-11 PM ET on Sunday, June 8. Broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall, the evening will feature stage and screen actor Hugh Jackman as host.

Today’s Most Popular News: