Margo Seibert, Keala Settle, Julia Murney, Constantine Maroulis Part of Tonight's Women Songwriters Concert

News   Margo Seibert, Keala Settle, Julia Murney, Constantine Maroulis Part of Tonight's Women Songwriters Concert
The evening benefits the Lilly Awards Foundation.
HR - Margo Seibert.jpg
Margo Seibert

The Lilly Awards Foundation, the non-profit organization dedicated to developing and celebrating women artists by promoting gender parity at all levels of theatrical production, presents its fourth annual Broadway Cabaret: Broadway Stars Performing the Work of Women Songwriters October 17 at The Cutting Room (44 E. 32nd St.).

Directed by Leigh Silverman with musical direction by Georgia Stitt, performers include Margo Seibert, Telly Leung, Keala Settle, Christy Altomare, Solea Pfeiffer, LaChanze, Kelli Barrett, Jarrod Spector, Amanda Green, Julia Murney, Shakina Nayfack, Constantine Maroulis, Jessie Shelton, Erica Sweany, Abigail Nessen-Bengson, Ann Harada, Allie Trimm, Aaron Simon Gross, Asmeret Ghebremichael, Emily Padgett, Jeff Blumenkrantz, Laurel Harris, Aurelia Williams, Arbender Robinson, Adam Bashian, Chesney Snow, Aneesh Sheth, Jax Jackson and Charity Angel Dawson.

The band includes Randy Landau (bass), Michael Aarons (guitar) and Michael Croiter (drums). Guest musicians include Zoe Sarnak, David Evans, Julianne Wick Davis, Joel Waggoner, Lizzie Hagstedt, Meg Zervoulis and Tony Award winner Duncan Sheik; additional songwriters in attendance include Lynn Ahrens, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Masi Asare, Nell Benjamin, Susan Birkenhead, Julianne Wick Davis, Mindi Dickstein, Winnie Holzman, Anaïs Mitchell, Brooke Pierce, Janet Rosen and Sara Wordsworth.

The evening features songs from some of the new musicals on and Off-Broadway, all written or co-written by women, including Anastasia, Waitress, Sweet Charity, In Transit, Bella: An American Tall Tale, Little Women, Southern Comfort, Birds of Paradise and Hadestown as well as previews of songs from new shows by Asare and Tony Award nominees Birkenhead and Benjamin.

The benefit is co-produced by Stitt and Green. Monica Moore serves as the production manager. The Lilly Awards Benefit Committee is chaired by Susan Rose and Renee Landegger.

The Lilly Awards Broadway Cabaret begins at 8 PM. A special VIP Cocktail Reception begins at 6 PM, with a light supper at 7 PM. Doors open at 6 PM. Individual tickets range from $250-$400 and can be purchased at Corporate Sponsorship tables are also available for $2,500 for four seats, and $5,000 for eight seats.

(Updated October 17, 2016)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: