Producer Landesman to Receive Design Times Square Award

News   Producer Landesman to Receive Design Times Square Award
Rocco Landesman, the Broadway producer and theatre owner, will be presented with a special award Sept. 15 at W Times Square.
Rocco Landesman
Rocco Landesman Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Times Square Alliance will present the president of Jujamcyn Theaters with the Design Times Square Award. Landesman is being honored for his support of innovative and quality architectural and interior design for the theatres that comprise Jujamcyn Theaters. Those theatres include the Al Hirschfeld, Eugene O'Neill, St. James, Virginia and the Walter Kerr. The Renaissance-style interior of the St. James Theatre and the interior of the Byzantine-style Al Hirschfeld Theatre are also two of 26 finalists for the 2005 Top Choices for Design Times Square 2005 Award. Others finalists include the "Razzle Dazzle" sign that advertises Chicago and the renovation of the Hudson Theatre on West 44th Street. The public is invited to vote on the top designs; for more information or to cast a vote, visit

Prior to his appointment as president of Jujamcyn, Rocco Landesman produced the Tony-Award winning musical, Big River, and prior to that he taught dramatic literature and criticism at the Yale School of Drama. He has written articles and reviews for many publications, including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. He serves on the boards of the Municipal Art Society, The Actors' Fund and the Times Square Business Improvement District.

Today’s Most Popular News: