Winners of Berwin Lee Playwrights Award Announced

News   Winners of Berwin Lee Playwrights Award Announced
The winners each receive a $30,000 award.
Penelope Skinner
Penelope Skinner Joseph Marzullo/WENN
Robert O’Hara
Robert O’Hara

Dorothy Berwin, Mark Lee and Tom Kirdahy announced the third winners of the Berwin Lee Playwrights Award, which was created to “foster and promote the craft of playwriting in both the United States and the United Kingdom and to encourage the writing and production of plays.”

This year’s winners are Penelope Skinner (UK recipient; Village Bike and Linda) and Robert O'Hara (NY recipient; Bootycandy and Barbecue). Each receives a $30,000 award.

Both Skinner and O’Hara were chosen unanimously by the three trustees of the award. Each recipient will receive the award in the form of a commission, with no specific time frame attached.

Berwin Lee grants awards to playwrights whose work has not yet been produced on Broadway or in the West End. Potential recipients are identified through recommendations from chosen theatre companies in New York and London and from Berwin Lee’s advisory board: Maria Arena Bell, Sandra Brant, Dominic Cooke, Gary Garrison, Joyce Hytner, Cherry Jones, Mel Kenyon, Donna Murphy and John Tiffany.

Past winners include Bathsheba Doran (US recipient), Lucy Kirkwood (UK recipient), Stephen Karam (US recipient) and Zinnie Harris (UK recipient).

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: